inspired by david sweet, MP

I continue to be inspired by the recent controversy over Member of Parliament David Sweet appearing in an “It Gets Better” video, telling young gay people that things get better.  The controversy is that Mr. Sweet is a conservative evangelical Christian who has publicly criticized homosexuality, saying homosexuality was a bad sexual practice and that it was a sin.  He was head of the Canadian Chapter of Promise Keepers, who publish and sell a book called “Leaving Homosexuality” which deals with abandoning “on ongoing struggle with same-sex attraction” and likens homosexuality as a “sexual addiction.”

This is the first draft of a song that pretty much fell out of me last night and I dedicate it to Mr. Sweet!  Yes there is music to it and it will eventually be recorded and shared publicly!

People Like You

I see you on the screen telling me it’s going to get better;
that there will be a happier fate.
But if I recall right, just a few years ago
it was you that was spewing the hate.
I’d like to think you’ve turned over a new leaf but your history and politics have me wondering
what truly caused this change of heart?

People like you
are the root of the problem.
People like you
don’t always live like you should.
People like you
are blinded by your faith.
People like you
cause more harm than good

Your “good book” tells me my love is an abomination,
that people like me should be put to death.
But you seem to pick and choose what laws you follow,
ignoring those that inconvenience.
But if righteousness could only be gained through those laws,
your own saviour died for nothing

People like you
are the root of the problem.
People like you
don’t always live like you should.
People like you
are blinded by your faith.
People like you
cause more harm than good

Your past works ask me what steps can be taken towards
leaving my life and identity?
That I am struggling with my love and who I am.
The only struggles I see are when people like you try to change me –
saying it is not an acceptable lifestyle.
Acceptable to whom?

People like you
are the root of the problem.
People like you
don’t always live like you should.
People like you
are blinded by your faith.
People like you
cause more harm than good

You keep saying that I haven’t seen the light.
But I can truly see shadows that it casts.

Leave a Reply

