bah! humbug…

So folks, upon reading about my ire and distaste for one particularly noxious Christmas song in particular, as denoted here, have asked me about my choices for holiday songs that I enjoy listening to.

So who am I to argue?  Here’s a list!

  • Silent Night – a beautiful song, the simpler the rendering, the better.  Trans Siberian Orchestra’s solo acoustic guitar version from “Christmas Eve and Other Stories” is almost perfect.
  • California Guitar Trio – Their entire “10 Christmas Songs” album, particularly Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring
  • Bela Fleck and the Flecktones with the Alash Ensemble – Jingle Bells (get to about 1:15 in this video and be amazed at Tuvan Throat Singing at its finest).
  • Victor Wooten – The Christmas Song
  • The Pogues – Fairy Tale of New York 
  • The Pretenders – 2000 Miles
  • Vince Guaraldi Trio – The Entire “A Charlie Brown Christmas” soundtrack, but especially including Christmas Time is Here – this entire CD gets me in the mood for the season, but the song itself is just sheer perfection.  Steve Vai does a lovely version of it on Merry Axemas Volume 1.
  • Trans Siberian Orchestra – Christmas Eve/Sarajevo – When I heard the original Savatage version, I realized that Christmas music could rock beyond what Bruce Springsteen or John Mellencamp could do…
  • Jonatha Brookes with Kevin Gilbert – O Come, Emmanuel – chilling, dark, yet hopeful.  Yes that’s a helicopter blade you hear cycling in the background.  A commentary on the militarization of the holy lands.
  • Skydiggers – Good King Wenceslas – a simple version of a wonderful hymn, I just love the Skydiggers’ harmonies and voices working together!
  • Christmas with John Denver and the Muppets – The entire album, especially It’s in Every One of Us
  • Greg Lake/Emerson Lake and Palmer – I Believe in Father Christmas (I can’t believe I forgot this one! Thanks to Steve K!)
  • Jethro Tull – Ring Out Solstice Bells – A little something for the pagan in all of us!

So there’s a good start of ten songs that I will actually stop, sit and listen to when they come on the radio…yeah right – Tuvan throat singing, solo bass and dark versions of religious music on the radio – as if!  This list is by far not complete, but gives you a good start of holiday music that puts me in the spirit…

Not to mention, of course, a little holiday CD put out by Balderdash and Humbug in 2008!

</shameless plug>

And that’s probably the last I’ll write about Christmas music – for this year at least!  Happy Holidays, Season’s Greetings, Merry Christmas, Feliz Navidad, Joyeux Noel, Happy Hannukah, Happy Kwanzaa, a Blessed Solstice, Happy New Year and…most of all…Soylent Green is People!

2 thoughts on “bah! humbug…

  1. I have to add: “Driving Home for Christmas” – Chris Rea. Just love it.
    Oh, and don’t forget The Weather Girls “Dear Santa”.
    ‘Tis the season!

  2. The only serious, non-farcical Christmas tunes I can think of are Greg Lake’s Father Christmas (I think that’s the title, you know the one) and Springsteen’s Santa Claus Is Coming To Town. Beyond that, I need to get into some Bob Rivers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

