music listography: list the songs to play at your funeral

Actually I’ve thought about this list a lot.  I want my memorial service to be a celebration and a time for my friends to gather and remember the good times.  I want it to be treated as the kind of listening party that my brother and I used to host in my parent’s basement.  Low lighting, a good selection of beverages and really cool music played at a volume for all to enjoy while having a good conversation.

  • The Torture Never Stops – Frank Zappa
  • Ki (the whole album) – The Devin Townsend Project
  • Grow Old With Me – Mary Chapin Carpenter’s version
  • Kedgeree – Mike Keneally (FUCKING PLAY THIS LOUDLY ENOUGH TO FEEL THE MUSIC AND UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS ME IN MUSIC)
  • Wish You Were Here (the whole album) – Pink Floyd
  • Call it Sleep – Steve Vai
Leave a Reply

