the kings david (the three kings?)

David – From the Hebrew name דָּוִד (Dawid), which was probably derived from Hebrew דוד (dwd) meaning “beloved”.  David was the second and greatest of the kings of Israel, ruling in the 10th century BC.  Several stories about him are told in the Old Testament, including his defeat of Goliath, a giant Philistine.  According to the New Testament, Jesus was descended from him.

Stop me if you’ve heard this one before!  A clown, a minister and a rabbi walk into Myke’s life…

There are a number of men in my life named David, ranging from respected associates, to at least three who would qualify as “secondary fathers,” mentors and spiritual and philosophical pillars in my life.

What all these men have in common are first of all, they are “David”s and not “Dave”s, they are all deep thinkers, extremely grounded and exceedingly giving when sharing of their knowledge, wisdom, guidance, energy and time.

For these traits, I am exceedingly grateful.  In addition to thought provoking, entertaining and inspirational conversation, each of these gentlemen offers me something distinct that I am lacking: 

  • the ability to let go and play,
  • the ability to let go and trust, and
  • the ability to let go and follow.

Having these men in my life is making me become a better person and helping me achieve a potential that I could not normally achieve on my own.  And since DH has passed, they have all stepped up to the plate in ways that have astonished me.  I am honoured to call each of them friend, collaborator, teacher, minister and master in their own way.

Leave a Reply

