an open letter to a broken record…

Dear friend,

Over the years I have known you, you have always been quite forthcoming in how unhappy you are in the City of Hamilton.

You constantly lament the lack of opportunity when people are moving here by the thousands. You whinge about having nothing to do on a weekend where there were two downtown street festivals, a paid beer and music festival and a free world music and culture festival.

Not to mention the myriad of regular weekend activities available to you in any metropolis, plus hiking, biking trails, many art galleries, an internationally renowned botanical garden and some generally cool people.

Yes! As a gay person, the one bar sucks, but there are other watering holes to go to to meet and chat with guys, not to mention the two “spas” if you’re not looking to chat. That plus the various social groups lead me to believe that your real issue isn’t with Hamilton…

The surest way to have entropy in your life is to sit back and wait for something to happen.

But dear friend, your broken record laments about how awful things are here are threadbare and worn. Either do something to make this city a better place for you or move as you so often promise.

I suspect if and when you move, you will find yourself equally as restless there as you are here. Let me know if that changes and you have finally found what makes you content – I will be truly happy for you!

Until then, I don’t need your negativity in my life and in my enjoyment of the city I call home. Yes it isn’t perfect, yes there are tons of things that frustrate me. But I am actually doing something towards alleviating those.

Peace Bro.

Leave a Reply

